Tuesday, August 8, 2017

Ono (JPN) vs Iartcev (RUS): 2014 Chelyabinsk World Team Championships

Part 1: Sainjargal (MGL) at the 2011 Qingdao Grand Prix
Part 2: Sharipov (UZB) at the 2012 Paris Grand Slam
Part 3: Wang (KOR) at the 2012 Tashkent Asian Championships
Part 4: Khashbaatar (MGL) at the 2013 Paris Grand Slam
Part 5: Lee (KOR) at the 2014 Chelyabinsk World Championships

Part 6: Iartcev (RUS) at the 2014 Chelyabinsk World Championships
Part 7: Akimoto (JPN) at the 2014 Tokyo Grand Slam

(Video courtesy of www.ijf.org)
2014 was a bad year for then-defending World Champion Shohei Ono. Not only did he fail to defend his title in the individual competition, Ono also lost in the team championships to Russia's Denis Iartcev. And it wasn't just a fluke win nor was the match decided on penalties.

Ono scored first but Iartcev attacked him mercilessly, first scoring with a counter attack before launching a solid osoto-gari that won him the match. It's safe to say that Ono was soundly beaten here.

No comments:

Post a Comment