Sunday, December 11, 2016

Some confusion about the role of shido

The IJF has published its first release about new rules for 2017. Most of it is clear cut and easy to understand. What's a bit confusing is the role of shido.

Originally, rumor was that it's not possible to win with shido during regular time UNLESS there are equal scores on the board. For example if Player A has a waza-ari and Player B has a waza-ari too, then if Player B gets a shido (in regular time), Player A will win. However, if neither player has a score and Player B gets a shido (or two) during regular time, Player A does not win. The IJF release sort of confirms that when it said: Only scores (technical scores) will decide a contest.

 Note: A JudoCrazy reader has pointed out that based on the IJF statement that only technical scores count, logically speaking even if both players have waza-ari each and one of them gets a shido, it should still go into Golden Score. He has a point. The IJF should clarify.

The IJF goes on to say that at the end of regular time, if there are no scores or if the scores are equal, the match will go into Golden Score. It adds two other points relating to this:
i) Any score and/or penalties from regular time will remain on the score board.
ii) The decision in the Golden Score is made by the difference of score or shido.


Based on the above, if Player B has one shido going into Golden Score, that one shido should remain on the board. Does that mean Player A has one shido to spare, meaning he is allowed to have one shido without losing the match? Because if Player A gets one shido, then it is one shido each. Only then, logically, should the next shido count as the decision maker. Right?

What if Player B has two shidos going into Golden Score? Does that then mean Player A has two shidos to spare?

This matter is unclear and not clarified in the IJF release. We will soon find out the details in early January. Until then, we can only speculate. 

No comments:

Post a Comment