Friday, December 11, 2015

Was Nagase robbed?


Was Nagase robbed?
in the semifinal of the -81kg at the 2015 Tokyo Grand Slam, Nagase gets hansoku-make for leg grab. But did he grab the leg or the jacket skirt? If the latter, is it hansoku-make? Was he robbed of a place in the final? Tell us what you think.
Posted by JudoCrazy on Friday, December 11, 2015
Both players end up in an awkward situation. Nagase's left hand seems to be reaching for uke's jacket skirt.

It's not clear from this angle whether he is holding onto the jacket skirt of pants leg.

Even from this angle it's not so clear whether it's the jacket skirt or pants leg being held.

From here, it looks like it's the jacket skirt but pressed tightly against the left inner thigh. Is this hansoku-make?

5 comments:

  1. I think that once the leg came into play nagase had to halt his attack - touching the leg is illegal.

    ReplyDelete
  2. I think that once the leg came into play nagase had to halt his attack - touching the leg is illegal.

    ReplyDelete
  3. He clearly has grabbed the jacket along with the pants. With just the jacket there would still be room for movement, as the Korean try to wiggle out his hips are completely controlled at that single point. If it was a matter of tighness or hooking the leg but not gripping there would be more room to escape.
    That said I do not think it was intentional, but he was not robbed of a anything.

    ReplyDelete
  4. Clearly he's looking for the referee to side with him and not his opponent and why not, as his waza was purely instinctive. It's a high risk strategy though when it comes to anything around this illegal act as it will always invoke a 50/50 decision each time in my view.

    ReplyDelete
  5. Definitely not a place to grab at, judo aside.

    IMO it could've gone either way - he definitely used the jacket to get the hold but but also seems to have touched the leg. At any rate that leg rule is to the detriment of judo.

    ReplyDelete