Wednesday, September 30, 2015

Takaichi's Bridge: Ippon!


Takaichi Bridge: Ippon!
Japan's Kengo Takaichi bridges to avoid landing on his back but under IJF rules, this means Ippon anyway. His back doesn't have to touch the mat. As long as he bridges, it is Ippon for his opponent.
Posted by JudoCrazy on Wednesday, September 30, 2015
Takaichi's opponent has dropped underneath him with a double-sleeve sode-tsuri-komi-goshi.

Instead of springing upwards, his opponent opts for a rolling action.

To avoid landing on his back, Takaichi does a bridge (an action that is discouraged by the IJF).

Takaichi avoids landing on his back and rotates on the top of his head to try to twist onto his front.

He lands on his front but IJF rules says an Ippon is given anyway because of the bridging action.

No comments:

Post a Comment