Thursday, February 19, 2015

Shido or No Shido?

If a player drops down to her knees and the opponent manages to stay on her feet, usually the referee will give shido for false attack. In this example, white executes a drop morote-seoi-nage that doesn't work. The referee gives her shido. But was it a false attack?

The referees in the audience seem to be split 50:50. The IJF Referee Commission says no shido because to them, white made a real attempt to attack. She was moving around and using kumi-kata to open up her opponent, she drops and forces her opponent to pitch forward a little, and when the attack failed, she immediately got up on her feet. All these things combined convinces the commission it is a real attack not a false attack. So, no shido.


No comments:

Post a Comment