Saturday, February 28, 2015

Ippon or Arm Block for Hansoku-Make?

We all know that leg grabs are illegal in judo. But what if you merely block and do not grab? Is it ok? No, it's not. It's hansoku-make. We can argue all we want about how overly harsh that rule is but as it stands right now, this is the rule. According to Juan Barcos of the IJF Referee Commission, when Japanese coach Kosei Inoue saw the playback, he accepted the hansoku-make decision against the Japanese (blue) player.


No comments:

Post a Comment