The place for people crazy about analysis of international judo competitions, players & techniques.
Monday, February 16, 2015
Bridge or No Bridge - Version 1
In this example, the blue player is clearly trying to avoid conceding a
score by spinning out of the throw. If you watch the slow-motion replay, you'll see that his back never actually
touches the mat. The referee gave a waza-ari. But should it be no score
since his back never hit the mat? Or should it be ippon because of his
bridging action? Find out what the IJF referee commission concluded.