Friday, December 19, 2014

Why no shido for Riner?

In the hotly anticipated final between Japan's Ryu Shichinohe and France's Teddy Riner, the Japanese player dropped down three times to avoid an impending attack. He was penalized each time, giving him a total of three shido during the course of the match.

This was the correct call. It's long been established that if you simply drop to your knees without initiating a proper attack, you will get penalized. So, Shichinohe got what he deserved.

Riner adopts a high cross grip for a long time without attacking. Why no shido?
Riner, however, made some infringements too. On one occasion, he pulled Shichinohe's head down but did not attempt to make a throw. Simply pulling your opponent's head down without attempting an attack is a shido penalty under the new IJF rules. On another occasion, Riner adopts a high cross grip and does not attack. Again, under the new IJF rules, this is a shido penalty.

Why didn't the referee give him shido on those two occasions? Why didn't Riner get what he deserved? Watch the clip below to see what I mean.


No comments:

Post a Comment