Wednesday, April 9, 2014

Bridging always results in ippon (Part 3)

In my postings on bridging, the examples featuring Zantaraia and Hideshima were very clear examples of bridging, where the players' backs were clearly arched.

But even partial bridging results in ippon being given to the opponent because bridging is simply not allowed.

Below, we have an example of bridging by South Korean World Champion Lee Kyu-Won who bridges to try to avoid landing flat on his back, after he was thrown by Japan's Takashi Ono. He succeeds in landing only partially on his back but the referee rightly gives it an ippon because Lee was clearly bridging.




No comments:

Post a Comment