Tuesday, April 8, 2014

Bridging always results in ippon (Part 2)

In a recent post, I highlighted how Georgii Zantaraia tried to avoid an ippon by bridging but the referee still gave an ippon to his opponent.

The "no bridging" rule is not something new. This rule has been around for decades. Below is a clip from the 1993 Hamilton World Championships which shows Japanese World Champion Daisuke Hideshima trying to avoid an ippon by bridging. Although his back did not touch the mat, the referee still gave his opponent, Patrick Rosso of France, the ippon.







No comments:

Post a Comment