Tuesday, February 11, 2014

Riki Nakaya's illegal leg grab

In recent posts we've seen how South Korea's Kim Jae-Bum struggled with the new gripping rules and how Slovenia's Rok Draksic has adapted remarkably well. For this post, let's look at how instinctive behaviour can result in disqualification.

Even world champions sometimes still violate the new rules. Japan's Riki Nakaya made the mistake of grabbing his opponent's leg after a second sasae-tsuri-komi-ashi attempt. It looked like it was just an instinctive leg grab. But under today's rules that's still a hansoku-make penalty.


Nakaya nearly grabbed his opponent's leg after the first attack and actually did grab it on the second attack.

It's probably just an instinctive reaction on Nakaya's part.




No comments:

Post a Comment